Brief Introduction
Talent Projects
CAS Members
CAS Thousand-Talent Program Winners
CAS Hundred-Talent Program Winners
Join Us
Contact Us

  Location: Home > People > Staff
Details of the Faculty or Staff
  ZHAO Yuliang
Phone Number  
Mailing Address  
  19B YuquanLu, Shijingshan District, Beijing
Zip Code  

Yuliang Zhao holds a BS degree from Sichuan University in Radiochemistry (1985) and a PhD degree in Radiochemistry from Tokyo Metropolitan University (1999). He was a JSPS Postdoctoral Fellow at TMU and a researcher at RIKEN prior to becoming a Hundred Elite professor at Institute of High Energy Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS) in 2001. Prof. Zhao is the founder and director of CAS Key Laboratory for Biomedical Effects of Nanomaterials and Nanosafety, He is also the Deputy Director-General of National Center for Nanoscience and Technology of China.
Prof Zhao is well-known for his studies on toxicological properties of manufactured nanomaterials and cancer nanomedicines. He proposed the nanotoxicology research in 2001 in China and was one of the earliest scientists worldwide initiated the nanosafety study. His research interests span both basic and translational research including Nanotoxicology, Cancer Nanomedicine, Nanochemistry for lowering the toxicity of nanomaterials or nanomedicines, and Molecular Dynamics simulation on nano-bio interface. He developed a novel nanomedicine (without delivery systems) for low-toxic cancer chemotherapy, especially, proposed the use of non-killing cell mechanism (prison cell not poison cells by low-toxic nanostructure materials) to tenderly inhibit cancer growth, rather than cancer cells killing which results in innocently normal cells being slaughtered. He is the author of over 240 publications, 10 books, and 17 book chapters. He has delivered more than 160 invited talks worldwide. He is a member of National Steering Council for Nanoscience & Nanotechnology of China, and the founder and president of Chinese Society for Nanotoxicology. He has been recognized for his accomplishments with about 20 national and international awards, including the National Award for Natural Sciences. He serves as Associate Editor/Advisory Editorial Board member for 7 SCI journals in USA, Germany and UK.